It is with pleasure that the Earle Creativity & Development Trust announces the following Grant recipients for 2016:

Science & Technology

  • Biological Systems Modeling Limited (Gabe Redding) – for the development of a holographic rugby simulation.
  • Kevin Tong – for the development of an electric bike that carries up to two passengers.
  • Ben Pedersen – for the development of an automated nematodes counter, to assist in animal health management and parasite research.
  • Jessica White – for the development of an animated children’s book.
  • Te Manawa Museums Trust – to develop a ‘hands-on lab’ and ‘robotics workshops’.
  • Rangitikei College – for the purchase of a Farmbot for Teaching Science and Technology.

Visual Arts

  • Adriana Martins da Silva – to produce a short fictional film about the emotional aspects of immigration through the coming together of two antipodean cultures, involving the relationship between a Rangitane weaver and a Portuguese immigrant.
  • Clayton Tansley – to design and construct a metal solar powered ‘Pou’ sculpture.
  • Haunui Press – David Lupton will produce an interactive exhibition of botanical photographs which will tour the local regions.
  • Hone Moriaty and Stewart Fulljames – will refine and collaboratively explore culture, customs and identity using ceramics, ‘uku’. They will use historic ceramic processes, with innovative and indigenous design and glazing processes.
  • Luther Ashford – Awhina Puketapu, Maia Week, Tapiri Pirikahu, Tessa Ma’aunga to put together an exhibition of new, unique and innovative artworks.
  • Manawatu Art Teachers Association – to organise a ‘Creative Futures Conference’, aimed at providing senior secondary visual arts students with inspiration from visiting professional artists, speakers and workshops.